Pork Pie

Mmm, meat pies.  I do love meat pies.  Medieval pies, modern pies, pasties, etc, it doesn’t really matter.  The recipe I found for tonight is called ‘Easy Pork Pie’ and it is a pretty simple recipe.  I could go for simple for this fifth day of Piemas.

1229161855.jpg

Given my tendencies to make pork pies, I sort of followed the recipe and then mixed it up just a little bit.  Since we had it on hand, I used herbes de provence oil to soften the onions.  I almost substituted cinnamon and ginger for the seasoning, but we decided to give the new mix a try – allspice with a bit of nutmeg.  I’m not normally a fan of nutmeg but there was so little in this recipe that it wasn’t a big deal.  I also decided to make one big pie to cut up for lunches tomorrow rather than making smaller hand pies.

Since I varied the amounts a little bit to fit what was in the house, here is the recipe:

1 lb ground breakfast sausage
1 small onion, diced fine
2 TBSP Herbes de Provence oil
1/2 tsp allspice
Pinch of nutmeg
1 egg beaten, for wash
Store-bought (or handmade) pie crust

Cook the onion in the oil until softened.  Add the onion, allspice, and nutmeg to the ground sausage and mix well.  Fit a pie pan with a bottom crust, pat the meat mix into the pan, and then cover with the other crust.  Wash the top of the pie with the beaten egg, cut your vents, and bake at 425 F for 30 minutes.

How did it turn out?  Pretty good so far.  We made it for lunch for tomorrow.  But the little bit I fussed out of the middle to make sure it was done was yummy.  Hopefully the whole pie will be just as yummy.

Here’s the website I cribbed from:
https://www.theprettyblog.com/food/easy-pork-pies/

 

This entry was posted in Crystal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

