HFF: Corn Bread

20160409_120858.jpg

My procrastination level has been rather high lately.  I had a number of recipes picked out to choose from for the Pretty as a Picture challenge for the Historical Food Fortnightly, ingredients were bought, and then as the last night of the challenge came around, I changed my mind completely.

Instead of making an apple tart with cheese (which I made later anyway) or a mushroom tart, I made corn bread to go with my chili.

I’m not sure when I started eating corn bread with chili, or if I ever really did it at all in the past.  I know in school we were served corn bread with honey as a side when we would have “straw hats” for lunch.  Straw hats were taco meat and cheese over fritos.  My favorite part, however, was the corn bread.  And now it is stuck in my head that if I have chili, I should have corn bread with honey.  Mmm, honey.

20160407_195521.jpg

As the chili got started, I looked through the Feeding America Historical American Cookbook Project website and found a number of corn bread recipes.  On a whim, I took a look through my favorite Better Homes and Gardens cookbook and found the recipe I ended up using.  I need to use that cookbook more.  I loves it. (And no, that was not a typo.  I looooves it.)

Recipe Book

The recipe itself was fairly simple.  It was different than the recipe I normally use from the back of the corn meal container in that it called for shortening.

The Challenge:  #7 Pretty As A Picture

The Recipe: Golden Corn Bread, from the Better Homes & Gardens Cook Book

20160407_190520.jpg

The Date/Year and Region: American, 1951

Time to Complete:  This took about an hour all together, including baking time.

Total Cost:   I say this all the time, but this was completely made from my pantry.  Nothing was bought specifically for this challenge.

How Accurate Is It?: I’m happy to say this is pretty accurate.  I made no ingredient substitutions or anything like that. However, I didn’t cook this in the waxed paper lining.  I just sprayed the pan with cooking spray.  Oh, and I didn’t sift the ingredients.  My bad.

How Did You Make It: I ended up putting the shortening in an oven safe bowl and melting it that way since we don’t have a microwave in the house.  Otherwise, I followed the instructions leaving out things I didn’t feel like doing, like sifting ingredients.  I may have over stirred it, too, but it still turned out okay.

How Successful Was It?: This was pretty successful.  The boys liked it.  I liked it, especially drenched in honey.  Drenched in honey it definitely tasted at least as good as it looked while drenched in honey.  I may like honey…  It was definitely spongier than my ‘normal’ cornbread, but Amon liked it that way.  It also kept very well over a couple of days.  While I am not sure I am going to replace my ‘normal’ recipe with this one, I might very well make this one again.

20160407_195342.jpg

This entry was posted in 20th Century, Cooking, Crystal, Historical Food Fortnightly. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

